Header Ads

EXTREMA : Pure Thrash-metal di Milano

Classic Italian thrash-metal band EXTREMA has released their new offering, The Old School EP, via Punishment 18 Records. The EP features five tracks originally written during the band's heyday - primarily unheard as finished recordings until now. The Old School EP is available for pre-order now via CD, limited edition vinyl (only 250 copies available) and iTunes digital versions.

EXTREMA has also revealed their track "Child Abuse" via PunkNews.org. Take a listen to the new track here: https://www.punknews.org/article/60837/extrema-child-abuse-punknews-exclusive

"Child Abuse" is another track from our past production that never ended on an album, there is a really old version on our demo tape "Rehearsal 1989" that I found, the same as all of the tracks on this EP. We wanted to finally record all of them for our official discography. I've always been pissed that we never recorded them before because even today, these songs are timeless - they don't sound old. This song has a strong lyric, the title says everything," states guitarist Tommy Massara.

Recently, EXTREMA released their new music video for the refreshed track "Carcasses", featuring Destrage's Ralph Salati. The "Carcasses" video is filmed, directed and edited by Daniele Farina with additional filming from Jimmy Rey, Loris Marinoni and Nicole Alagna.

The Old School EP embodies the spirit, immediacy and brutality of the years in which its tracks were originally written, accented by fresh, pummelling production. Recorded last year at Fear Studios in Alfonsine (Ravenna, Italy) with The Seed of Foolishness producer Gabry Ravaglia, these tracks do not just prompt the "old school" cliché - they are the real deal - recorded in classic brutal fashion with only minimal writing tweaks.

All five tracks were originally written in 1987, shortly after the release of EXTREMA's We Fuckin ' Care EP. Only one of these songs saw the light on an album - "Life" was originally released in 1993 on the band's first full-length album Tension at the Seams. The track has been re-recorded for The Old School EP in addition to tracks the band is known for performing live-only or releasing as raw demos on rare tapes, including "Child Abuse", the instrumental "M.A.S.S.A.C.R.O", "Tribal Scream" and "Carcasses". The idea came to guitarist Tommy Massara while tidying EXTREMA's audio archives. He began listening to a tape on which there were no notes or text records of any kind.

In addition to those tracks, The Old School EP will feature two bonus tracks, including live versions of "Life" and Motörhead's "Ace of Spades", both recorded in Rome, Italy.

The Old School EP track listing:
01. Life
02. Carcasses (feat. Ralph Salati of Destrage)
03. Tribal Scream
04. Child Abuse
05. M.A.S.S.A.C.R.O. (feat. Bob Capka, formerly of Vicious Rumours)
06. Life (Live in Rome)
07. Ace of Spades (Live in Rome)

The Old School EP marks the band's first recording session with new drummer Francesco La Rosa, who recently replaced Paul Crimi on drums. It will be clear why his nickname is "Frullo", which means "whipper" in English!


GL Perotti: Vocals
Tommy Massara: Guitars
Gabri Giovanna: Bass
Francesco La Rosa: Drums
Con la tecnología de Blogger.